Loving through the pain

Posted on Updated on

43 You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor[a] and hate your enemy.’ 44 But I say to you, love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you, 45 that you may be sons of your Father in heaven; for He makes His sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust. 46 For if you love those who love you, what reward have you? Do not even the tax collectors do the same? 47 And if you greet your brethren only, what do you do more than others? Do not even the tax collectors do so? 48 Therefore you shall be perfect, just as your Father in heaven is perfect. – Matthew 5

I haven’t read my bible in a while (and maybe that’s an understantement) but that’s just an aside. I come across a whole bunch of scripture thanks to all my cyber friends and a few months ago, I stumbled across this one. It was in a post written by Kate Andre. In it she talks about this lady who was praying for someone who has deeply hurt her. And you know how when we’ve been wronged, we try and justify ourselves, and in our anger want to be vindicated, we seek justice, we ask God to right the wrongs that have been committed against us? We never really take the time to pray, I mean take ourselves out of the situation and really pray for that person. Ever since I read that post, that is what God has been calling me to do and I guess it was all leading to this moment, when I’d have to pray when it hurts the most. When the pain is most unbearable and you just want to cave in and give up. I have no clever way of ending this post except…

Do it anyway. Pray. Because you understand grace and you know what it is to love…

2 thoughts on “Loving through the pain

    Mihlali said:
    July 14, 2016 at 10:06 am

    Wow, thank u so much.

      Babalwa responded:
      October 19, 2016 at 7:35 pm

      Thanks Mihlali, I’m glad you got something through my post.

Leave a Reply

