Yep, old dogs can be taught new tricks!

Posted on Updated on

Its funny how struggling with something for a period of time takes away so much from you. Just thinking back to a time when I was so consumed with this one thing that I couldn’t enjoy life generally. Now I realise that the things that we meditate upon and the things we give a place to fester in our minds, those are the very things that determine where we’re at emotionally and how we react to certain situations. They have the ability to consume us and you find yourself in a place where you feel like your life is centered around this one thing. So yesterday as I lay on my bed, thinking, it hit me. Almost like how Paul asked God to take away the thorn from his flesh, 3 times even and God said to him:

“My grace is sufficient for you…”
2 Corinthians 12:9

Ok so like constantly thinking of problem, for example you’re a varsity student and you dont know where your fees are going to come from or you’re struggling to forgive someone who’s hurt you. What will keep you from moving forward is constantly thinking “but this thing that they did really hurt me, I cant believe they did that” and such things. “If you try not to think about it then doesnt that mean you’re kinda running away from the problem?” you might ask. I don’t think so. I think its important for us to constantly focus on things that build us up, looking to Jesus to help us in the things we struggle with. Brings a certain scripture to mind:

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things”
Phillipians 4:8

It takes a conscious deliberate rerouting of brain thoughts from all the negative stuff to, as the Word mentions, things that are pure ect. Its not the easiest thing though because our minds sometimes wonder so easily. Its like our minds are old dogs, to old to learn new tricks so they consistently go back to their old ways of doing stuff because that’s what’s comfortable, its a tried and tested sort of thing. But I guess I’m challenging you (and me) to get out of that comfort zone and not hide behind “this is how I am”.

Let’s teach our minds new tricks.

Leave a Reply

