Reality check….Phew!

Posted on Updated on

So about an hour ago, I had a conversation about my future plans with mom. Funny really, when I think of it and just how the years seem to have just rushed past before my eyes. I’m now in my 3rd year of study, my little sister is varsity this year and in the not so distant future, I’ll join the working class. Wow! But I’m only turning 20! Just feeling really afraid and fearful hey. Haha and to think that for so long, I’ve wanted to be financially (and otherwise) independent of my parents and now, when it comes to crunch time, I’m so overwhelmed. Just got reminded now of Jeremiah when he said:

“Alas, Sovereign LORD,I  said, “I do not know how to speak; I am too young.”  – Jeremiah 1:6 (NIV)

and thats how I’m feeling really. And its even apart from the whole me going out into the “big bad world” but more of sensing like God has so much more for me to do for Him this year and like Jeremiah, i’m scared. Maybe because people wont listen to me or I think myself inadequate for the task but boy does God know how to reassure us. Just knowing He’s there, He’s known from the beginning…

But the LORD said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ You must go to everyone I send you to and say whatever I command you. 8 Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you and will rescue you,” declares the LORD – Jeremiah 1:7 (NIV)

I guess its just a matter of me trusting. I have no clue what He’s got up His sleeve concerning my life this year and although being human, we’ll always have these little (big?) fears, ultimately I know what is true and that is that God’s got me. All I want to do is to be plugged into Him and stay there…

Hmmm… as an after thought, I saw on the news recently a story about this girl whose rope snapped while she was bungee jumping and am now just thinking, thats kinda like how trust works and in a funny way, I’ve got this faith that God will catch me no matter what happens or maybe, like the girl, give me strength to swim out….

Photo from http://www.firstpost.com/fwire/world-fwire/australian-woman-survives-terrifying-fall-after-bungee-cord-snaps-176510.html
Leave a Reply

