God’s purpose over our plans…

Posted on Updated on

Last night was pretty unusual for me but it brought back a lot of memories. Over the past few months, I’ve had regular sleeping patterns and it was rare for me to sleep after midnight (I use to be such an owl not so long ago!). But yesterday was different. For some reason, I started reflecting on my life, where I’ve been, mostly in terms of my relationships with people. You know how when you’re in the midst of serious relationship and you start making promises to your partner about how you’d never leave them, that even if you did, life would never be the same. Funny how life pans out and things don’t go according to your set out plan. Yesterday, for the first time, I can actually say that God gave me peace about things that have occurred in my life outside of my “plan”. Failed relationships (well only one so far. I actually think thats a blessing), unrealised dreams like my aspiration to become a doctor and impacting people’s lives in that way and so many other things that haven’t gone my way. I know God’s got a purpose for me (although I’m not too sure what it is at the moment) and somehow, last night as I was brooding deeply, I was glad that my life and all that happens in it is up to God. Just going to end of with a scripture that a friend of mine reminded me of

Many are the plans in a person’s heart,
   but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.

Proverbs 19: 21 NIV

Leave a Reply

